Yes, Mr Santa, I killed your reindeer.

Reindeer from Blindh Ren, photo credit to Niklas Blindh.

Well, actually, I didn’t, but a lovely Same family up north, who have been herding reindeer for generations did. I bought a whole baby Rudolph directly from them and stuffed him in my freezer. Not much space for anything else now, save a tub or two of Hägen-Daaz (which is a highly overrated ice-cream if you ask me. I had low blood sugar while grocery shopping. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it). Anyways, on the subject of Rudolph, I plan to make him the center of my New Years Eve dinner. There will be a small group of people coming over because they love me. At least I’d like to think so, but in all honesty, it’s probably because they expect the wine to be better than at whatever other dinner options they had for the eve. Bag-in-Box dominates in Sweden you know. Or they are curious how I will fit 12 people into my new one room apartment. Or they are after my secret wine stash, the one that comes out once I have had too much to drink…

I’m set on most of the menu. Nibblets when they arrive (with champagne – probably magnums of vintage Pierre Peters, haven’t decided yet) including my rilette – a fave of my friend Eric, truffle eggs and Anselme Selosse’s salty chickpea “chips”. For the appetizer we will have foie gras imported from Southwest France, on brioche from Urban Deli Bakery and with a homemade port-fig marmelade. Matched with mixed #farmerfizz Blanc de Noir champagnes. Rudolph will star as the main, with a cream sauce of home made reindeer stock and forest chanterelles, gifts from my ex neighbor. Maybe a gratin Dauphinoise and a cabbage salad. The dessert is not set, but I do love a good, rich chocolate mousse. Maybe with spiced blood orange slices, served on these delectable cookies I brought from Paris. Galettes sablés au beurre. Got them for the retro box, love them for the caramel crunch…

So, now the problem is picking the wine. What goes with reindeer? It’s a game meat, slightly sweet with not much fat. My American books obviously spend very little time on the topic of reindeer pairing – bet they’d find it macabre. But maybe an elegant Barolo? Or a northern Rhone wine? Anyone have thoughts? And for dessert? Need to match the rich chocolate, the caramel biscuits, and the orange freshness all at the same time. Help!

Drink of choice for midnight? Sparkling. We will be too full and drunk to really appreciate the real stuff. I’m stocking up on boxes of Italian Ferrari Brut and Langlois Brut Cremant de Loire. The latter gets an extra year on the lees for the Swedish market. Lovely stuff too!

On that note, I think I HAVE to go test-drink some of it. Cheers! 😉

5 responses to “Yes, Mr Santa, I killed your reindeer.

  1. Vive le foie gras!

    At least there are still some people in Sweden who dare to say they still eat it. And don’t drink BiB. (We had a wonderful slice of seared foie gras as starter yesterday.) I think you should go classic with a bordeaux. Had a nice one the other day from Chateau Liversan with just the right dry tinge, from 09. But perhaps you’d like to go for something more classy?

    But….. where’s the cheese? thought you said you were having dinner…

    • Yes, my moral limits for food end at foie gras. Thanks for the tip – actually Bordeaux could be nice. We are 12 people, so I can’t go crazy on first growths. Liversan seems about right, not available in Sweden though, but I could buy it online from Denmark (which reminds me of the discussion on the wine monopoly at http://www.bkwine.com/sv/debatt/kronstam-molstad-vinbutiker-pa-internet/)

      I guess you are “French” by now, so yes, I should go get cheeses. If I can get through the door at Winjas this time…

  2. I have 2 Tomme Vieux cheeses left… 😉
    What part of the reindeer are we talking about and how will it be cooked and served? You will need power to match the reindeer but how it’s cooked and served should influence your choice of wine w.r.t. e.g. tannins. 🙂

    • Oh no, those Tomme Vieux were LETHAL! I’ve gotten a Seine de Nounou (great goats cheese), an aged Gruyere, a Cremeux de Bourgogne, and a creamy blue cheese similar to St Augur.

      It’s the steak. It will be rosé, with minimal spices. I’m thinking a Crozes-Hermitage. What are you all having?

      • I had a cold and probably my most boring New Year’s Eve ever…
        I slept a lot, got up at 23:40 and had some ham and cheese with two glasses of Pierre Moncuit 2004 Brut Millésime Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs. I read a little and watched a few things on SvtPlay and went back to bed. I would have liked to have a nice dinner with great wine and good friends but some nasty virus invaded me… :-/ Oh, well. It’s less than a year left until next time. 😉

Leave a comment