Wanted: a London-based project

I’m antsy. I know, it’s not a far stretch when it’s raining and I’ve decided to stay in to clean on a Saturday night. (Why I would do that is a good question, but I’ve invited a dozen or so friends for a British jubilee party tomorrow and the place looks like someone let a pack of wild monkeys loose in it. Not that I’m being particularly effective at my task of removing their traces but there is a slow, steady progress and in the meanwhile I’ve made a few cakes.)

Calling out for good ideas?

So, back to the “antsy” part. It’s more than that. I’ve realized that, though I LOVE being self-employed, running my own show, I miss colleagues and shared projects and project deadlines.

Being in London for a few weeks was crazy but also very motivating. At RAW and Real Wine Fair and LIWF I met so many people who are as enthusiastic about wine as I am, who I can share my thoughts and ideas with and have a constructive discussion. People who make me realize the millions of things about wine I have yet to learn or discover. Yet, I see things I can contribute with my odd background and my science/business/CSR/conference management/media experience. I’m learning a lot here at home too, but perhaps I have been comfortable long enough and it’s time to kick things up a notch. I know it won’t be the same pink sheen if I spend a longer period of time abroad – the novelty of things wears off both for me and the people who meet me. Still, all week I’ve been trying to figure out this nagging feeling, and it seems I might be jonesing for a new project, a new angle, a new challenge. I’m not learning fast enough. Sure, I’ve been contemplating working for a few months in a vineyard (if I can’t be of much use pruning vines, I would love to build a social media strategy, a Corporate Social Responsibility program, or simply use business development skills to help a good small business get their exports going). A place like Spain or Italy would improve my languages. At the same time, by now I’ve hit the age of 33 (crikey!) and I do like having friends around and good dining at my fingertips. London, with its amazingly long history of wine trade, extreme concentration of wine knowledge and fantastically interesting people, is attractive. Housing in London, however, is not.

But maybe a few months? Half a year? So, dear reader, if you have a room to let or a project you think I might be a good contributor to, don’t hesitate to contact me.

Leave a comment